Teachers & Advisors | Virtual Workshop Summer Series


DATE: July 14, 16, 21, 23, and 30th, 2020
SESSIONS: Daily at 10 am and 2 pm (Central Time)

Over the course of 5 days, we will cover a wide range of topics with some of the yearbook world’s finest speakers; all geared to help you make a better yearbook. Although we won’t be face-to-face or in-person in a big group, we will be rolling out unique ways to bridge the digital divide and make you feel like you’re in one big room!  

Lastly, and most importantly, in keeping with our commitment to help you create better books, Friesens is proud to offer the bulk of the Summer Series entirely FREE OF CHARGE; with only a handful of extra activities that carry a small cost (more information to come on the extras).


Tuesday, July 14th

Morning Session:
– What if?
– Publication Photography
– Caption Writing

Afternoon Session:
– Camera Handling & Composition
– Beginning Layout & Design

Thursday, July 16th

Morning Session:
– Incorporating Photo Stories into Spreads
– Advanced Layout & Design
– Image Editing

Afternoon Session:
– Environment Portrait – Sports/Action Photography
– Feature Leads and Stories

Tuesday, July 21st

Morning Session:
– Coverage Ideas
– Headline Design & Writing

Afternoon Session:
– Photo Staff Organization and Management

Thursday July 23rd

Morning Session:
– Marketing and Social Media
– Final Project Prep and Ideas – Speaker Panel Q & A

Thursday July 30th

Morning Session:
– Presentations & Awards


Samantha Jo Berry is the publications adviser at Bridgeland High School in Cypress, Texas. She has a degree in agricultural communications. She is passionate about creating positive classroom cultures, powerful storytelling and all things Google. A former Teacher of the Year, TAJE Pathfinder and JEA Rising Star, she currently serves as the President-Elect for the Texas Association of Journalism Educators. Her students have been named NSPA Finalists, and in 2019, the second volume of their yearbook was named a CSPA Crown Nominee.

Mark Murray has been the Executive Director of the Association of Texas Photography Instructors (ATPI) for 28+ years. He recently retired from Arlington ISD and studied photography at Texas A&M. Combining his various skills and perspectives, as teacher, adviser, technologist, and visual thinker, Murray has received the Star of Texas Award from APTI, the Trail blazer Award from TAJE, the Pioneer Award from NSPA, and the Edith Fox Award from ILPC. He was named one of 75 Texas Legends of Scholastic Journalism by UIL in 2002.

Lori Oglesbee, for the last 35 years, has advised more than 4,000 outstanding students at high school in Arkansas and Texas, including McKinney HS and Prosper HS. Her staff created award-winning yearbooks, newspapers and online sites, taking top awards at both the state and national level. Recipient of the 2005 Max R. Haddick Teacher of the Year and 2009 JEA National Yearbook Adviser, she advocated for New Voices legislation and student press rights. She uses Twitter to give pointers on writing: #WritingTipsFromMsO


  • School Information

  • Student Information

    Please complete one registration form per school. All participants (Advisor and Students) from your school registering for the workshop should be specified below.
  • To add a participant, click the "+" at the end of the row.
    FirstLastStudent Email address 
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.